No more rumors or speculation needed. The cast for Star Wars: Episode VII has been made official in a statement by Disney. The announcement also came with a photo of the cast meeting with director JJ Abrams.

The Star Wars team is thrilled to announce the cast of Star Wars: Episode VII.

Actors John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, and Max von Sydow will join the original stars of the saga, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Kenny Baker in the new film.

Director J.J. Abrams says, “We are so excited to finally share the cast of Star Wars: Episode VII. It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again. We start shooting in a couple of weeks, and everyone is doing their best to make the fans proud.”

Star Wars: Episode VII is being directed by J.J. Abrams from a screenplay by Lawrence Kasdan and Abrams. Kathleen Kennedy, J.J. Abrams, and Bryan Burk are producing, and John Williams returns as the composer. The movie opens worldwide on December 18, 2015.

We already knew Mark Hamill, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher and Peter Mayhew were returning and that Adam Driver had been cast as a villain. The names that people will notice are Andy Serkis and the awesome Max von Sydow as well as Anthony Daniels and Kenny Baker returning as C-3P0 and R2-D2.

 Oscar Isaac had been rumored over the past few weeks to be in the cast and that was proven true today. John Boyega is best known from Attack the Block and will be joined by About Time’s Domhnall Gleeson and relative unknown Daisy Ridley to fill out the cast.

 The additions of Serkis and von Sydow especially make me excited about the next trip to a galaxy far, far away.

Filming is set to begin next month. Star Wars: Episode VII will release on December 18, 2015.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *